Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Our Lady of Sorrows

Tradition has that Mary's heart was pierced with Seven Sorrows. They are as follows:

According to the Roman Breviary: (i) at the prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2. 34–5); (ii) at the flight into Egypt (Matthew 2. 13–15); (iii) at the loss of the holy child (Luke 2. 41–52); (iv) on meeting Jesus on the way to Calvary (Luke 23. 27–31); (v) at standing at the foot of the cross (John 19. 25); (vi) at the taking down of Christ from the cross (Luke 23. 53); (vii) at his burial (Matthew 27. 59–60, etc.).

No comments: